Science Prize of the German Technion Society

In 2002, the DTG honored two scientists from Israel and Germany for the first time with its “Science Prize of the German Technion Society”. The award winners not only demonstrate outstanding scientific achievements, they can also look back on exemplary collaboration with colleagues from the other country. One of the two award winners should be a young scientist. This is laid down in the principles for the prize, which were decided in March 2002 at the 38th Board meeting together with the two sponsors. Reinhard Frank and the Chairman of the Eduard Rhein Foundation, Dr. Rolf Gartz, promised the DTG that the prize would be awarded every two years to a Technion scientist and a German researcher. The prerequisite was the examination and evaluation of the submitted letters of recommendation by a DTG commission.

Winners of the Science Prize 2006: Prof. Dr. Moshe Shpitalni (Technion) and Prof. Dr. Thomas Scheper (Leibniz Universität Hannover) with their wives, Dr. Christian Hodler (Chairman of the DTG, center) and Prof. Dr. Yitzhak Apeloig (President of the Technion, right), Photo: Naumann, DTG

Laureates of the Science Prize (alphabetical order)

Prof’in Dr. Mirela Ben-Chen (Technion, Computer Science/ 2017),

Prof. Dr. Ruth Enis (Technion, Architecture/ 2008),

Prof. Dr. Anat Fischer (Technion, Mechanical Engineering/ 2014),

Prof. Dr. Michael Glickman (Technion, Chemistry/ 2012),

Prof. Dr. Denise Hilfiker-Kleiner (Hannover Medical School, Medicine/ 2017),

Prof. Dr. Ilan Marek (Technion, Chemistry/ 2010),

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Martin (Hanover Medical School, Biochemistry/ 2010),

Prof. Dr. Eugen Rabkin (Technion, Materials Science/ 2004),

Prof. Dr. Thomas Scheper (Leibniz Universität Hannover, Technical Chemistry/ 2006),

Prof. Dr. Peter R. Schreiner (Justus Liebig University Giessen, Chemistry/ 2014),

Prof. Dr. Helmut Schwarz (TU Berlin, Organic Chemistry/ 2004),

Prof. Dr. Mordechai Segev (Technion, Quantum Physics/ 2008),

Prof. Dr. Yuval Shoham (Technion, Biotechnology/ 2002),

Prof. Dr. Moshe Shpitalni (Technion, Mechanical Engineering/ 2006),

Prof. Dr. Thomas Sommer (Max Delbrück Center Berlin, Chemistry/ 2012),

Prof. Dr. Günter Spur (TU Berlin, Mechanical Engineering/ 2002),

Award for Outstanding Teachers, PUC

The “Award for Outstanding Teachers in the Mechina” has been presented to two teachers at the Pre University Center (PUC) every year since 2018. The prize money is donated by the Reinhard Frank Foundation. At the end of the academic year, the two best, most committed and most successful teachers are selected from numerous entries. The PUC is a university institution that offers a second chance to any applicant who does not meet the entry qualifications for studying in Israel. For example, applicants who have forgotten their high school diploma due to their compulsory time in the army, new immigrants, young people from educationally disadvantaged households or from ultra-Orthodox families can supplement their knowledge in a one-year program. Mathematics, natural sciences, English and scientific work are at the forefront of the training. In addition to their professional qualifications, the teachers employed at the PUC are required to show a great deal of empathy, encouragement, and commitment. On the one hand, the students must be challenged individually as much as possible; on the other hand, they must always be stimulated to learn on their initiative and not be discouraged by setbacks. The honors for the teachers are a great recognition and at the same time an encouragement that it is worthwhile for the special students of the PUC to surpass themselves again and again.

Outstanding Teacher Award 2018, Danny Glaubach and Einat Avital, in the center the director of the PUC Ilana Lustig, Photo: Nitzan Zohar, Technion PLATZHALTER

Umbrella Awards

In 2018, the “Umbrella Awards” honored three young scientists from the three institutions Technion, Forschungszentrum Jülich and RWTH Aachen University for the first time. Since then, the €5,000 prizes have been awarded at each Umbrella Symposium for outstanding researchers in the field of the respective symposium topic, one for each of the institutions. The financial support associated with the award is intended to lay the foundation for further cooperation and personal exchange between Germany and Israel. This should also strengthen the young scientists concerned in international competition and promote their mobility. The DTG supports the prize for the Technion prizewinners with its own funds.

Umbrella Award winner 2018 Prof. Dr. Matthew Suss framed by the three heads of delegation Prof. Dr. Wayne Kaplan (Technion), Prof. Dr. Joachim Mayer (RWTH Aachen University) and Prof. Dr. Sebastian Schmidt (Forschungszentrum Jülich), Photo: Nitzan Zohar, Technion

Award winners from previous years

2022: Assaf Y. Zinger (Technion), David Mehler (RWTH Aachen), Gabriela Figueroa Miranda (FZ Jülich),

2021: Limor Freifeld (Technion), Julius Kernbach (RWTH Aachen), Renato Duarte (FZ Jülich)

2019: Lior Kornblum (Technion), Francisco Guzman (RWTH Aachen), Xiaoyan Yin (FZ Jülich),

2018: Matthew Suss (Technion), Stefanie Elgeti (RWTH Aachen), Yasin Emre Durmus (FZ Jülich)

The prize is awarded annually in preparation for the next symposium. Download here: